Managing Volumes and Volume Types

Volumes are the Block Storage devices that you attach to instances to enable persistent storage. Users can attach a volume to a running instance or detach a volume and attach it to another instance at any time. For information about using the Dashboard to create and manage volumes as an end user, see the Creating and Managing Volumes.

As an administrator, you can manage volumes and volume types for users in various projects. You can create and delete volume types, and you can view and delete volumes. Note that a volume can be encrypted by using the steps outlined below.

Creating a Volume Type

  1. Log in to the Dashboard.
  2. Choose a project from the drop-down list.
  3. On the Admin tab, open the System tab and select Volumes.
  4. Click the Volume Types tab, and click Create Volume Type. In the Create Volume Type window, enter a name for the volume type.
  5. Click Create Volume Type to confirm your changes.

Note
A message indicates whether the action succeeded.

Deleting Volume Types

When you delete a volume type, volumes of that type are not deleted.

  1. Log in to the Dashboard.
  2. Choose a project from the drop-down list.
  3. On the Admin tab, open the System tab and click the Volumes category.
  4. Select the Volume Types tab, select the volume type or types that you want to delete.
  5. Click Delete Volume Types.
  6. In the Confirm Delete Volume Types window, click Delete Volume Types to confirm the action.

Note
A message indicates whether the action succeeded.

Deleting Volumes

When you delete an instance, the data of its attached volumes is not destroyed.

  1. Log in to the Dashboard.
  2. Choose a project from the drop-down list.
  3. On the Admin tab, open the System tab and click the Volumes category.
  4. Select the volume or volumes that you want to delete.
  5. Click Delete Volumes.
  6. In the Confirm Delete Volumes window, click Delete Volumes to confirm the action.

Note
A message indicates whether the action succeeded.