Managing Users and Roles

There are two primary user roles in Metacloud: member and admin, which represent standard users and administrators. Whether a user is a member or admin is determined by project-role association. Users become global administrators of all projects when they are granted the admin role on any one project. Assign the admin role to those you intend to allow to oversee the entire cloud. The default user is configured as an admin.

When you are logged in as an administrator, the Admin panel is available in the left pane. When you are logged in as a user, the Project panel displays and admin functions are not available.

Important
Metacloud creates several system users, for example, nova and glance. These users are necessary for the proper function of your environment. Do not delete or modify these users.

To add a user:

  1. Log in to the Dashboard.
  2. Choose a project from the drop-down list.
  3. and select Admin, Users.
  4. Click Create User.

    Users Panel—Create User

  5. Fill in all fields on the Create User dialog.

    Create User Dialog

  6. Click Create User to add the user.

To disable a user:

  1. Log in to the Dashboard.
  2. Choose a project from the drop-down list.
  3. Select Admin, Users.
  4. Select the user to disable access for and click Edit.
  5. Select Disable User.

Users Panel—Disable User

The user can no longer access the Dashboard or perform tasks.

To delete a user:

  1. Log in to the Dashboard.
  2. Choose a project from the drop-down list.
  3. Select Admin, Users.
  4. Select the user(s) to delete access for and click Edit.
  5. Click Delete Users.
  6. Confirm that you want to delete the users.

    Users Panel—Delete Users