Managing Volumes and Volume Types

Volumes are the Block Storage devices that you attach to instances to enable persistent storage. You can attach a volume to a running instance or detach a volume and attach it to another instance at any time. For information about using the Dashboard to create and manage volumes as an end user, see Creating and Managing Volumes.

As an administrator, you can manage volumes and volume types for users in various projects. You can create and delete volume types, and you can view and delete volumes.

To create a volume type:

  1. Log in to the Dashboard.
  2. On the Admin drop-down list, select Volumes.
  3. Click the Volume Types tab, and click Create Volume Type.
  4. In the Create Volume Type dialog box, enter a name for the volume type.
  5. Click Create Volume Type to confirm your changes.

Note
A message indicates whether the action succeeded.

To delete a volume type:

Deleting a volume type does not affect current volumes of that type.

  1. Log in to the Dashboard.
  2. On the Admin drop-down list, select Volumes.
  3. Select the Volume Types tab, select the volume type or types that you want to delete.
  4. Click Delete Volume Types.
  5. In the Confirm Delete Volume Types dialog box, click Delete Volume Types to confirm the action.

Note
A message indicates whether the action succeeded.

To delete a volume:

When you delete an instance, the data of its attached volumes is not destroyed.

  1. Log in to the Dashboard.
  2. On the Admin drop-down list, select Volumes.
  3. On the Volumes tab, select the volume or volumes that you want to delete.
  4. Click Delete Volumes.
  5. In the Confirm Delete Volumes dialog box, click Delete Volumes to confirm the action.

Note
A message indicates whether the action succeeded.