Creating and Managing Volumes

Volumes are Block Storage devices that you attach to instances to enable persistent storage. You can attach a volume to a running instance or detach a volume and attach it to another instance at any time. You can also create a snapshot from a volume or delete a volume.

If you have a Metacloud installation configured with ephemeral storage, you cannot create or manage volumes as a user. An Admin can determine what type of storage your Metacloud configuration uses.

Creating a Volume

  1. Log in to the Dashboard.
  2. Click Create Volume or select the Volumes tab in the Project drop-down list and click Create Volume.
  3. In the Create Volume dialog box, enter or select the following values.
    • Volume Name—Specify a name for the volume.
    • Description—Provide a brief description for the volume (optional).
    • Volume Source—Select one of the available options:
      • No source, empty volume—Creates an empty volume. An empty volume does not contain a file system or a partition table.
      • Image—Select an image from the Use image as a source drop-down list.
      • Snapshot—Select a snapshot from the Use snapshot as a source drop-down list.
      • Volume—Select a volume from the Use volume as a source drop-down list.

      Note
      Options appear in the Volume Source list when there are existing images, snapshots, or volumes.

    • Type—Select a volume type. Only administrators can create volume types.
    • Size (GB)—The size of the volume. The Volume Limits information to the right shows GB available.
    • Availability Zone—Select the Availability Zone from the list. By default, this value is set to the availability zone given by the cloud provider (for example, us-west or apac-south). For some cases, it could be nova.
  4. Click Create Volume. The Dashboard shows the new volume in the list.

Attaching a Volume to an Instance

You can attach a volume to one instance at a time.

  1. Log in to the Dashboard.
  2. On the Project drop-down list, click Volumes.
  3. Select the volume to add to an instance and select Manage Attachments from the Actions column.
  4. In the Manage Volume Attachments dialog box, select an instance from the Attach to Instance drop-down list.

    Note
    The actual device name might differ from the volume name because of hypervisor settings.

  5. Click Attach Volume. The Dashboard updates the Attached To column of the volume.

You can view the status of a volume in the Volumes tab of the Dashboard. The volume status is either Available or In-Use. Now you can log in to the instance and mount, format, and use the disk.

Detaching a Volume from an Instance

  1. Log in to the Dashboard.
  2. On the Project drop-down list, click Volumes.
  3. Select the volume and click Edit Attachments from the Actions column.
  4. Click Detach Volume and confirm your changes. The Dashboard shows the volume with an Available status.

Creating a Snapshot from a Volume

You can create a snapshot from a volume that is not attached to an instance.

  1. Log in to the Dashboard.
  2. On the Project drop-down list, click Volumes.
  3. Select a volume from which to create a snapshot and click Create Snapshot from the Actions column.
  4. In the Create Volume Snapshot dialog box, enter a snapshot name and a brief description.
  5. Click Create Volume Snapshot and confirm your changes. The Dashboard shows the new volume snapshot in the Volume Snapshots tab.

Editing Volume Characteristics

You may find it necessary to change volume characteristics. In the Actions column, Edit Volume allows you to change the name and description of the volume and make the volume bootable for launching an instance. You can convert the volume type by choosing Change Volume Type.

Some actions are not available if the volume is attached to an instance. Once you detach the volume from the instance, the Extend Volume option becomes available.

Deleting a Volume

You can delete a volume if it is not attached to an instance. You can detach a volume by selecting Manage Attachments from the Actions column.

Note
When you delete an instance, the data in the attached volumes is not deleted.

  1. Log in to the Dashboard.
  2. On the Project drop-down list, click Volumes.
  3. Select the check boxes for the volumes that you want to delete.
  4. Click Delete Volumes and confirm your choice. A message indicates whether the action was successful.